Kevin Dawson appointed BCRSP chair

Holds engineering degree and MBA; previously worked for Nalcor Energy

Kevin Dawson appointed BCRSP chair


The Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP) has appointed Kevin Dawson as governing board chair effective July 1 for one year. Kevin Dawson is the 23rd chair since the certification body’s incorporation in 1976 and succeeds Paul Andre.


As the board chair, Dawson will lead the governing board through the execution of its strategic plan and vision.


As principal consultant at Omnius consulting in Halifax, Dawson has more than 25 years experience in occupational health and safety. Prior to forming Omnius, Dawson was the manager, safety and health at Nalcor Energy.


Dawson holds an bachelor of engineering and a master of business administration from Memorial University of Newfoundland. Dawson is a member of the Canadian Society of Safety Engineering (CSSE) and has served as the CSSE Avalon Chapter Chair. He is also a past Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Construction Safety Association. Mr. Dawson has been a Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP) since 1998.


Joining Dawson on the 2018-19 governing board are newly appointed officers Monica A. Szabo (vice chair), David Johnston (secretary-treasurer) and Paul Andre, in his new role of past chair. 


Newly elected governors include Mark Fernandes, Marianne Matichuk, Dave Rebbitt and Sandra Stephens, and returning governors include Tareq Al-Zabet,  Robin Angel, Paul Belair, Dale Shafer and executive director Nicola Wright.