TIR, Paul Midgley awarded with Nova Scotia’s highest safety honours

Nova Scotia’s Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal (TIR) and Lindsay Construction’s Paul Midgley have received Nova Scotia’s highest workplace safety honours, the Mainstay Safety Award of Excellence.
The awards recognize the very best practices in the prevention of workplace injury, as well as leadership in fostering timely and safe return to work, and are presented by WCB Nova Scotia and the Department of Labour and Advanced Education. A total of 11 awards were presented in the program’s eight categories.

TIR has been an occupational health and safety leader in government, with other departments using their framework to form their own OHS programs. With dedication, courage, commitment and leadership, TIR ensures its employees go home safe and healthy to their families after each work day.
“Our colleagues at TIR have raised the bar and shown what it means to lead,” said Minister of Labour and Advanced Education Kelly Regan. “They’ve established themselves as leaders in occupational health and safety in the provincial government. Their commitment inspires all of us in the public service, and in organizations across the province, to reach higher.”   
In his role as manager at Lindsay Construction, Paul Midgley has effectively implemented sound occupational health and safety and injury management systems. His ability to challenge the status quo and continually strive for improvement in workplace safety has earned him the respect of his colleagues.
“Since launching the Workplace Safety Strategy three years ago, we’ve been pushing the message that if we want to make Nova Scotia safer, leaders need to get on board and take a direct, active role,” said WCB Nova Scotia CEO Stuart MacLean. “Because of people like Paul Midgley, stepping up to be a leader in his workplace, we’re seeing the calibre of safety programs rise. It is proof we’re seeing a real shift in the way Nova Scotians prioritize workplace safety.”

For the full list of award recipient, click here.