TRIEC announces winners of the 2008 Immigrant Success Awards

The Toronto Region Immigrant Employment Council (TRIEC) and RBC are pleased to announce the winners of the 3rd annual Immigrant Success (IS) Awards, recognizing innovative employers and outstanding individuals that have demonstrated leadership by bringing skilled immigrants into the Toronto region labour market.

“In today’s challenging economic times, companies are more than ever looking for the best and brightest employees – wherever they are from. Since the Toronto region is rich with talent from all over the world, we have a tremendous opportunity to leverage this diversity to our competitive advantage,” saysElizabeth McIsaac, executive director of TRIEC. “This year’s IS Award winners clearly understand the benefits of bringing diverse talent into their workplaces, and why this is so important for the continued economic prosperity of our city region. They are the success stories of today and the trailblazers of tomorrow.”

Two organizations were recognized for their success and promotion of skilled immigrants in the Toronto Region. Three individuals were also honoured for their accomplishments in promoting the career advancement of skilled immigrants. By showcasing the success of the IS Award winners TRIEC hopes to inspire more employers to consider how to better recruit, retain and promote skilled immigrants.

The 2008 IS Award recipients are:

RBC Best Immigrant Employer Awards: Nytric Limited and CH2M HILL Canada Limited

Toronto Star Immigrant Champion Award: Patricia O’Connor, Coordinator of Field Programming, Internationally Educated Social Work Professionals (IESW) Bridging Program, The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education, Ryerson University

Canadian HR Reporter Individual Achievement Award: Jane Lewis, Country Human Resources Manager, Procter & Gamble

CBC Toronto Business Leadership Award: Fiona Macfarlane, Americas Chief Operating Officer, Tax, Ernst & Young

The winners were celebrated at a reception on Monday, January 19, 2009, hosted by RBC.

For complete details about the IS Awards and to view profiles of the winners visit