BCRSP appoints a new chair and governing board for 2014

The Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP) has appointed Daniel Lyons as the new board chair. Lyons is the 20th chair since the certification body’s incorporation in 1976 and succeeds Ronald Durdle who has served as chair since 2012.
As the BCRSP chair, Lyons will lead the governing board through the execution of its current strategic plan. The strategic plan focuses on business growth, global leadership, strategic partnership and operational excellence.
As the vice-president, health, safety and environment of Armtec, based in Guelph, Ont., Lyons has more than 26 years experience in health and safety management.  He has several academic achievements, including a master’s degree in environmental health sciences from Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine.

He has served on various provincial, national and international health and safety boards and committees, including the International Network of Safety and Health Practitioner Organisations (INSHPO) on behalf of the BCRSP.  He is also a Certified Safety Professional (CSP) and chartered member of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (CMIOSH). Lyons has been a CRSP since 1995.
"The BCRSP governing board brings a range of expertise that will be invaluable to the BCRSP in 2014 and beyond in its commitment to strengthening the CRSP certification process in order to create the healthiest and safest workplaces in the world. As a member of the governing board since 2010, I've seen the impressive work that’s been done by the BCRSP and its committees,” said Lyons. “I look forward to building upon BCRSP’s successes as we continue to collaborate with our certificants and key stakeholders."
In addition to Lyons, the 2014 governing board includes:

Executive officers:
• Dave Turner (vice chair)
• Paul Andre (secretary-treasurer)
• Ronald Durdle (past chair)
• Nicola Wright (executive director)

• Paula Campkin
• Brett Christie
• Kevin Dawson
• Andy Felczak
• Covena Hilford
• John Hollohan
• Yvonne O’Reilly
• Harry Stewart
• Peter Sturm
• David Williamson
• Andrea Cotroneo (public member).